SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 131

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas Wesleyan University Rams men's basketball team, which recently won the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Division I National Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Rams won their first national title by defeating Oklahoma City University by a score of 67-65 on March 20, 2006, at Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Missouri, on a 3-point shot launched by senior guard Ben Hunt with only 0.2 seconds left in the game; and

WHEREAS, Selected to participate in the tournament through an at-large bid, the Rams advanced to the championship game by defeating four higher-seeded teams; junior guard Evan Patterson was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player, and he and Ben Hunt were selected to the All-Tournament team; and

WHEREAS, The Rams have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the year; team members Albert Talley, Brian Ellis, Ben Hunt, Muhammad Abdullah, C.J. Wren, Khayri McKinney, Evan Patterson, Jeremy Fox, C.J. Higginbotham, Nino Etienne, Scott Reasoner, Brad Schilder, Brandon Livingston, Andrew Bradford, and Matt Barnett can take pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, The Rams have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Terry Waldrop, who was named Rawlings-National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Division I Men's Basketball Coach of the Year, and assistant coaches Brennen Shingleton and

S.R. No. 131

Aaron Whaley; head athletic trainer Kyle Morgan, athletic director Kevin Milikan, and sports information director Josh Lacy contributed to the team's successful season as well; and

WHEREAS, Texas Wesleyan University and the City of Fort Worth are proud of the Rams for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend the

Texas Wesleyan University Rams men's basketball team for their successful season and extend congratulations to them on winning the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Division I

Men's Basketball National Championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Brimer

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 4, 2006.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate