SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 157

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins
The University of Texas at El Paso in honoring the 1966 Texas
Western College Miners basketball team and coach Don Haskins on
the 40th anniversary of the team's National Collegiate Athletic
Association national championship; and

WHEREAS, By 1966, the civil rights movement in America had passed several milestones; Brown v. Board of Education had been decided and the Civil Rights Act and the Voting Rights Act had become law, but racial discrimination still existed in many areas of national life, including college athletics; and

WHEREAS, Texas Western College, soon to become The University of Texas at El Paso, blazed a trail that many other teams would soon follow when it became the first basketball team to start five African American players in a national championship game; and

WHEREAS, Led by coach Don Haskins, the Miners defeated an all-white University of Kentucky team by a score of 72-65, shattering once and for all the myth that a multiracial team had no place in collegiate sports; the story of that groundbreaking season has been made into the feature film *Glory Road*; and

WHEREAS, The members of this illustrious team were: Jerry Armstrong, Orsten Artis, Louis Baudoin, Willie Cager, Harry Flournoy, Bobby Joe Hill, David Lattin, Dick Myers, David Palacio, Togo Railey, Nevil Shed, and Willie Worsley; and

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso and the 1966 Texas Western College basketball team are rightly proud of their role in promoting desegregation in college sports, and they are truly deserving of legislative recognition for that enduring legacy; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby extend congratulations to the 1966 Texas Western College Miners basketball team and The University of Texas at El Paso on the 40th anniversary of the team's historic national championship; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the university as a memento of this special occasion.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 15, 2006.

Secretary of the Senate