## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 164

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pride in recognizing David M. Oshinsky, who was recently awarded the prestigious Pulitzer Prize in history; and

WHEREAS, The George Littlefield Professor of American History at The University of Texas at Austin, David Oshinsky won the prize for his book *Polio: An American Story*, which describes the war against polio in the 1940s and 1950s; and

WHEREAS, The book depicts the competition between Jonas Salk and Albert Sabin as they raced to create a vaccine for the disease that was crippling thousands and frightening millions; and

WHEREAS, Polio: An American Story also highlights the power of grassroots fund-raising; it follows the rise of the National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis and the founding of the March of Dimes, which revolutionized philanthropy and medical research; and

WHEREAS, An exceptionally gifted writer and teacher, Professor Oshinsky has received praise for other books he has written as well; A Conspiracy So Immense: The World of Joe McCarthy and Worse Than Slavery: Parchman Farm and the Ordeal of Jim Crow Justice won major awards and appeared on The New York Times Notable Books list; and

WHEREAS, Highly respected and beloved by his colleagues and students, David Oshinsky has brought great honor to himself, the university, and the State of Texas, and he is truly deserving of legislative recognition for his outstanding achievement; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 164

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend David M. Oshinsky for his many contributions to The University of Texas at Austin and extend congratulations to him on earning the Pulitzer Prize in history; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos Ogden Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 8, 2006.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate