SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 175

In Memory of Sean Anselm Hayes

WHEREAS, It is with great sorrow that the Texas Senate notes the passing of an outstanding Texas Department of Transportation employee, Sean Anselm Hayes, of the Georgetown Area Office, who died in the line of duty on January 15, 2006, at the age of 49; and

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas wishes to join his family, friends, and fellow workers in mourning the loss of this remarkable Texan who dedicated his life to his family and career; and

WHEREAS, An esteemed and hardworking man, Mr. Hayes was born June 13, 1956, in Chicago, Illinois; he was an avid fan of the Chicago Cubs baseball team and all things associated with the Texas Longhorns; and

WHEREAS, He was an enthusiastic referee of football, basketball, and baseball and a supporter of children's athletics through the Texas Parks and Recreation Foundation; and

WHEREAS, Sean Hayes had a distinguished military career for 20 years as a highly respected noncommissioned officer in the United States Army, receiving numerous commendations and medals; and

WHEREAS, His hard work and ability were rewarded during his 11-year tenure at the Texas Department of Transportation, where

1

S.R. No. 175

he began as an Engineering Tech III and was steadily promoted to Engineering Specialist; and

WHEREAS, This highly respected state employee was a devoted husband and father who was recognized as a well-rounded man with outstanding honor and integrity; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby extend heartfelt sympathy to the members of the family of Sean Hayes: his wife, Robin Hayes; and his daughters, Jessica and Amanda; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Sean Anselm Hayes.

Ogden

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2006, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate