SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 193

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Dallas South Oak Cliff High School boys' basketball team, which captured the University Interscholastic League Class 4A state championship on March 11, 2006, at the Frank Erwin Center in Austin; and

WHEREAS, Led by Coach James Mays II, the Golden Bears soundly defeated a talented Fort Worth Dunbar team to finish their season with an impressive 30--7 record and possession of the coveted state crown; and

WHEREAS, Team members include Darrell Arthur, Kendrake Johnigan, Marquis Smyth, Laroderick Thomas, Frankie Solomon, Fred Girson, Edward Bradley, Israel Milson, Brandon Jones, Ronnie Morgan, J'Mison Morgan, Marquis Jefflo, Johnny Johnson, Jr., Jeremy Wallace, and Michael Cooper; and

WHEREAS, Coach Mays received strong support from assistant coaches Derek Stricklin and Anthony Terrell, both of whom helped create a winning atmosphere for the student athletes in their charge; and

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is the culmination of years of hard work and dedication, and the Golden Bears of Dallas South Oak Cliff High have inscribed their names in the annals of Texas high school sports history with their outstanding season and championship victory; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Dallas South Oak Cliff High School on winning the 2006 University Interscholastic League Class 4A basketball state championship and extend best wishes to Coach Mays, his players and staff, principal Donald Moten, and the other individuals who contributed to this significant achievement; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 15, 2006.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate