## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 204

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to pay tribute to retired United States Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, who recently visited Austin High School and El Paso Independent School District's Sandra Day O'Connor Criminal Justice/Public Service Academy; and

WHEREAS, A native El Pasoan and graduate of Austin High School, the retired Supreme Court justice returned to her alma mater almost 60 years after her graduation; she shared with the students her experiences as a student and some of the wisdom she acquired over the years; and

WHEREAS, The academy named in her honor is a collaboration between law enforcement agencies in the community, including the sheriff's department, school district police, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Fort Bliss, the United States Border Patrol, and the El Paso Police Department; instruction at the school is designed for students who are interested in serving the community through their careers; and

WHEREAS, After graduating from high school at the age of 16, Sandra Day earned a bachelor's degree in economics and a law degree from Stanford University; she went on to make history as the first woman appointed to the United States Supreme Court; she is a role model for all, and the future for women is brighter, especially in the field of law, due to her exceptional accomplishments; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby recognize Judge Sandra Day O'Connor for her outstanding achievements and her many contributions to this country and extend to her best wishes for the retirement years ahead; and, be it further

best wishes for the retirement years ahead; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 12, 2006.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate