## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 215

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Reverend Jim Mayfield for his 18 years of invaluable service as pastor of Tarrytown United Methodist Church and for his work to build harmony among the members of Austin's various faiths; and

Austin's various faiths; and WHEREAS, Over the years, Pastor Mayfield has ministered faithfully to the temporal and spiritual needs of innumerable people; he has performed countless ceremonies and has prayed with and counseled his church members in times of hardship and bereavement and in times of joy and celebration; and WHEREAS, Although he is stepping down as pastor of

WHEREAS, Although he is stepping down as pastor of Tarrytown United Methodist Church, Reverend Mayfield will carry on with his mission as a minister of goodwill to people of all faiths; he will write for the church, conduct seminars, and work to better the state's education system; and

WHEREAS, A source of strength and inspiration to others, this beloved pastor has the admiration of his peers for his work on behalf of his church and as president of Austin Area Interreligious Ministries, an organization dedicated to interfaith relations; and

WHEREAS, A man of exceptional intellectual and spiritual depth, Reverend Mayfield has had a lasting and positive impact on the lives of the members of Tarrytown United Methodist Church and of countless people of all faiths; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend the Reverend Jim Mayfield for his years of outstanding service to Tarrytown United Methodist Church and to the cause of unity among all people; and, be it further

all people; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 12, 2006.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate