SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 231

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to honor the Franklin D. Roosevelt High School boys' basketball team, who recently won the 2006 University Interscholastic League Class 3A state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Mustangs soundly defeated Carrollton Ranchview 62-46 to claim the school's first state crown since 1972; and

WHEREAS, Contributing to this total team effort were Isaac Okpe, Demarcus Johnson, Kenneth Brantley, Gabriel Harrison, Kevin Thomas, LaMarcus West, George Phillips, Vincent McNeil, Cedric Robinson, Dewanzell Day, Kadeem Craddock, Jeffrey Warfield, Demontra Brandon, and Danny Hogan; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding student athletes were schooled in the finer points of the game by head coach Stanford Hill, Jr., who was ably assisted by coaches Roderick Johnson and Damien Mobley, as well as by statistician O. J. Wright and ball girl Briana N. Hill; the entire Mustang squad also enjoyed the unwavering support of athletic director Earnest James, school principal Leon Dudley, dean Cheree Curlin, and assistant principals Seaborn Phillips and Anthony Jefferson; and

WHEREAS, Demonstrating the athleticism, talent, and dedication of true champions, the members of the Roosevelt boys' basketball team are a source of tremendous pride to their school, their families, and all of their supporters in the community; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Franklin D. Roosevelt High School Mustangs on winning the 2006 University Interscholastic League Class 3A state championship and extend to the players and coaches best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 15, 2006.

Secretary of the Senate