SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 241

In Memory of Betty Jean Hickman

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of San Antonio in mourning the loss of Betty Jean Hickman, who died April 19, 2006, at the age of 81; and

WHEREAS, Betty Jean Hickman was born in Abilene on December 20, 1924, to Howard and Dewey McCorkle; she worked as an office manager for an oil company in Fort Worth before taking a job as a personal assistant to then United States Senate Majority Leader Lyndon Johnson; and

WHEREAS, She moved to San Antonio in 1960, and she and her husband, the late Bob E. Hickman, founded Industrial Disposal Supply Company in 1963; and

WHEREAS, Betty Jean was a devotee of bridge and had been awarded the designation of Grand Master of Bridge; and

WHEREAS, She was a Christian Science practitioner and a member of the First Church of Christ, Scientist, and the Mother Church in Boston, Massachusetts; and

WHEREAS, Noted for her grace and generosity, Betty Jean Hickman enriched the lives of all who knew her through her warmth and kindness and her enthusiasm for living each day to the fullest; and

WHEREAS, She was a devoted mother and grandmother, and she leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by her family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 241

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Betty Jean Hickman: her daughters and sons-in-law, Candace Olson, Sandy and Dean Hayden, Donna and Vince Klein, and Mindy and Jimmy Campbell; her sister, Ann Hosack; and her four grandchildren and two great-grandchildren; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Betty Jean Hickman.

Wentworth

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 15, 2006, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate