BILL ANALYSIS

H.B. 3561 By: King, Tracy Natural Resources Committee Report (Unamended)

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

The East Medina County Special Utility District was created to provide water service to the southeast area of Medina County. The District's service area is located approximately 25 miles west of San Antonio, and is bordered by the towns of Castroville, LaCoste, Lytle, Natalia, Devine, Biry, Dunaly and Quihi, as specified in its Certificate of Convenience and Necessity (CCN) #10217 issued by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality.

Recently the Board of the District voted to have 7 board members, rather than 9. In addition, the CCN of the district was changed to better serve the residents of Medina County. HB 3561 codifies the new boundaries of the District, per the District's new CCN and authorizes the District to have seven members on the board of directors, instead of 9.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

It is the committee's opinion that this bill does not expressly grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, department, agency, or institution.

ANALYSIS

SECTION 1. Subtitle C, Title 6, Special District Local Laws Code, Section 7203.001. Definitions of "board," "director," and "district" are added.

Section 7203.002 Aligns the district's boundaries with the CCN territory.

Section 7203.051 Changes the board from nine members to seven.

EFFECTIVE DATE

If the Act does not receive the necessary vote for immediate effect, then it takes effect September 1, 2005.