BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center 79R6663 HLT-D

S.B. 1851 By: Madla Intergovernmental Relations 4/12/2005 As Filed

AUTHOR'S/SPONSOR'S STATEMENT OF INTENT

The East Medina County Special Utility District is a political subdivision of the state for the purposes of furnishing potable water to the southeast area of Medina County. The board of directors of the district have voted to have seven members, rather than nine. As proposed, S.B. 1851 codifies this change and coordinates the district boundaries and the district's certificate of convenience and necessity.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

This bill does not expressly grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, institution, or agency.

SECTION BY SECTION ANALYSIS

SECTION 1. Amends Subtitle C, Title, 6, Special District Local Laws Code, by adding Chapter 7203, as follows:

CHAPTER 7203. EAST MEDINA COUNTY SPECIAL UTILITY DISTRICT

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sec. 7203.001. DEFINITIONS. Defines "board," "director," and "district."

Sec. 7203.002. DISTRICT TERRITORY. Provides that the boundaries of the East Medina County Special Utility (district) are coextensive with the boundaries of the territory that is described by certificate of convenience and necessity number 10217.

[Reserves Sections 7203.003-7203.050 for expansion.]

SUBCHAPTER B. BOARD OF DIRECTORS.

Sec. 7203.051. BOARD OF DIRECTORS. Provides that the district's board of directors consists of seven directors.

SECTION 2. Effective date: upon passage or September 1, 2005.