79R3536 MXM-D

By:  Wentworth                                                    S.B. No. 390

relating to the order of succession to the office of governor. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: SECTION 1. Section 401.023(a), Government Code, is amended to read as follows: (a) If the governor, lieutenant governor, and president pro tempore of the senate are unavailable, the following officers in succeeding order shall exercise the powers and discharge the duties of the office of governor: (1) [the] speaker of the house of representatives; (2) [the] attorney general; (3) comptroller; (4) commissioner of the General Land Office; (5) commissioner of agriculture; (6) presiding officer of the Railroad Commission of Texas; (7) railroad commissioner, in order of seniority on the Railroad Commission of Texas; and (8) [(3)] the chief justices of the courts of appeals, in the numerical order of the supreme judicial districts the courts serve. SECTION 2. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this Act takes effect September 1, 2005.