WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize February 16, 2005, as Texas Midwest Day in Austin; and WHEREAS, The Texas Midwest is known for its scenic plains and rich history and is home to a host of cities offering a wide array of opportunities; and WHEREAS, The counties that comprise the Texas Midwest are Brown, Callahan, Coke, Coleman, Comanche, Concho, Eastland, Erath, Fisher, Hamilton, Haskell, Jones, Kent, Knox, McCulloch, Mills, Mitchell, Nolan, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Stephens, Stonewall, Taylor, and Throckmorton; and WHEREAS, The area is a combination of traditional ranch lands, farms, and large stretches of oil and gas reserves; once populated with Comanche Indians and other tribes, the Texas Midwest is dotted with historic sites and museums that provide an intriguing overview of life in the Old West; and WHEREAS, Texas Midwest Day in Austin provides the opportunity to demonstrate a strong voice for rural Texas and to bring attention to issues of concern in the region; the event also strengthens the participation of Texas Midwest citizens in the legislative process; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend the counties of the Texas Midwest on their many contributions to our state and extend best wishes to all who are participating in Texas Midwest Day in Austin; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the counties of the Texas Midwest as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate. Fraser, Duncan, Estes ________________________________ President of the Senate I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 16, 2005. ________________________________ Secretary of the Senate ________________________________ Member, Texas Senate ________________________________ Member, Texas Senate ________________________________ Member, Texas Senate