By: Crabb H.B. No. 1077

Substitute the following for H.B. No. 1077:

By: Crabb C.S.H.B. No. 1077

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1 AN ACT

- 2 relating to the composition of certain courts of appeals districts
- 3 and to the assignment and transfer of cases in certain courts of
- 4 appeals districts.
- 5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 6 SECTION 1. Sections 22.201(b), (f), (j), (k), (m), and (o),
- 7 Government Code, are amended to read as follows:
- 8 (b) The First Court of Appeals District is composed of the
- 9 counties of Austin, Brazoria, [Burleson,] Chambers, Colorado, Fort
- 10 Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Harris, [Trinity, Walker,] Waller, and
- 11 Washington.
- 12 (f) The Fifth Court of Appeals District is composed of the
- 13 counties of Collin, Dallas, Grayson, Hunt, Kaufman, and Rockwall[7
- 14 and Van Zandt].
- 15 (j) The Ninth Court of Appeals District is composed of the
- 16 counties of [Angelina,] Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty,
- 17 Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk, San Jacinto, and Tyler.
- 18 (k) The Tenth Court of Appeals District is composed of the
- 19 counties of Bosque, Burleson, Brazos, Coryell, Ellis, Falls,
- 20 Freestone, Hamilton, Hill, Johnson, Leon, Limestone, Madison,
- 21 McLennan, Navarro, Robertson, [and] Somervell, and Walker.
- 22 (m) The Twelfth Court of Appeals District is composed of the
- 23 counties of Anderson, Angelina, Cherokee, Gregg, Henderson,
- 24 [Hopkins, Houston, [Kaufman, Nacogdoches, [Panola, Rains, Rusk,

C.S.H.B. No. 1077

- 1 Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith, Trinity, Upshur, Van Zandt,
- 2 and Wood.
- 3 (o) The Fourteenth Court of Appeals District is composed of
- 4 the counties of Austin, Brazoria, [Burleson,] Chambers, Colorado,
- 5 Fort Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Harris, [Trinity, Walker,] Waller,
- 6 and Washington.
- 7 SECTION 2. Sections 22.207(c) and 22.213(d), Government
- 8 Code, are repealed.
- 9 SECTION 3. (a) Burleson, Trinity, and Walker Counties:
- 10 (1) may not impose a fee under Section 22.2021(b),
- 11 Government Code, for cases filed on or after the effective date of
- 12 this Act; and
- 13 (2) as soon as practicable after the effective date of
- 14 this Act, shall transfer the money collected under that section to
- the First and Fourteenth Courts of Appeals.
- 16 (b) Van Zandt County:
- 17 (1) may not impose a fee under Section 22.2061(b),
- 18 Government Code, for cases filed on or after the effective date of
- 19 this Act; and
- 20 (2) as soon as practicable after the effective date of
- 21 this Act, shall transfer the money collected under that section to
- 22 the Fifth Court of Appeals.
- (c) Burleson, Trinity, and Walker Counties shall reimburse
- 24 Harris County, as required under Section 22.202(c), Government
- 25 Code, for the costs incurred by Harris County from March 1, 2005,
- 26 until the effective date of this Act to support the First and
- 27 Fourteenth Courts of Appeals Districts.

C.S.H.B. No. 1077

- SECTION 4. This Act does not affect the jurisdiction on appeal of any case from a county that is transferred by this Act to a different court of appeals district if the transcripts for the case were filed before September 1, 2005, in the appropriate court of appeals district.
- 6 SECTION 5. This Act takes effect September 1, 2005.