By: Crabb (Senate Sponsor - Wentworth)

(In the Senate - Received from the House March 23, 2005;

March 30, 2005, read first time and referred to Committee on

Jurisprudence; May 2, 2005, reported adversely, with favorable

Committee Substitute by the following vote: Yeas 4, Nays 0;

May 2, 2005, sent to printer.)

1-7 COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR H.B. No. 1077

1-8

1-9

1-10

1-11

1-12 1-13

1**-**14 1**-**15

1-16

1-17 1-18

1-19 1-20

1-21

1-22

1-23

1-24 1-25 1-26

1-27 1-28 1-29 1-30

1-31

1-32

1-33 1-34

1-35

1-36

1-37

1-38 1-39

1-40

1-41

1-42

1-43 1-44

1-45

1-46

1-47

1-48

1-49 1-50 1-51

1-52

1-53

1-54

1**-**55 1**-**56

1-57

1-58 1-59

1-60

1-61

1-62 1-63 By: Wentworth

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

relating to the composition of certain courts of appeals districts and to the assignment and transfer of cases in certain courts of appeals districts.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTION 1. Sections 22.201(b), (f), (j), (k), (m), and (o), Government Code, are amended to read as follows:

- (b) The First Court of Appeals District is composed of the counties of Austin, Brazoria, [Burleson,] Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Harris, [Trinity, Walker,] Waller, and Washington.
- (f) The Fifth Court of Appeals District is composed of the counties of Collin, Dallas, Grayson, Hunt, Kaufman, and Rockwall[7 and Van Zandt].
- (j) The Ninth Court of Appeals District is composed of the counties of [Angelina,] Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk, San Jacinto, and Tyler.

 (k) The Tenth Court of Appeals District is composed of the
- (k) The Tenth Court of Appeals District is composed of the counties of Bosque, <u>Burleson</u>, Brazos, Coryell, Ellis, Falls, Freestone, Hamilton, <u>Hill</u>, Johnson, Leon, Limestone, Madison, McLennan, Navarro, Robertson, [and] Somervell, and Walker.

 (m) The Twelfth Court of Appeals District is composed of the
- (m) The Twelfth Court of Appeals District is composed of the counties of Anderson, <u>Angelina</u>, Cherokee, Gregg, Henderson, [Hopkins,] Houston, [Kaufman,] Nacogdoches, [Panola,] Rains, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith, <u>Trinity</u>, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.
- (o) The Fourteenth Court of Appeals District is composed of the counties of Austin, Brazoria, [Burleson,] Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Harris, [Trinity, Walker,] Waller, and Washington.

SECTION 2. Sections 22.207(c) and 22.213(d), Government Code, are repealed.

SECTION 3. (a) Burleson, Trinity, and Walker Counties:

- (1) may not impose a fee under Section 22.2021(b), Government Code, for cases filed on or after the effective date of this Act; and
- (2) as soon as practicable after the effective date of this Act, shall transfer the money collected under that section to the First and Fourteenth Courts of Appeals.

(b) Van Zandt County:

- (1) may not impose a fee under Section 22.2061(b), Government Code, for cases filed on or after the effective date of this Act; and
- (2) as soon as practicable after the effective date of this Act, shall transfer the money collected under that section to the Fifth Court of Appeals.
- (c) Burleson, Trinity, and Walker Counties shall reimburse Harris County, as required under Section 22.202(c), Government Code, for the costs incurred by Harris County from March 1, 2005, until the effective date of this Act to support the First and Fourteenth Courts of Appeals Districts.

SECTION 4. This Act does not affect the jurisdiction on appeal of any case from a county that is transferred by this Act to a different court of appeals district if the notice of appeal for the case was filed before September 1, 2005.

C.S.H.B. No. 1077 2-1 SECTION 5. This Act takes effect September 1, 2005.

2-2 * * * * *