By: Eiland

H.B. No. 2569

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 AN ACT relating to the office of district attorney for the 253rd Judicial 2 3 District and to the creation of the office of district attorney for the 344th Judicial District. 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 5 SECTION 1. Section 43.170, Government Code, is amended to 6 read as follows: 7 Sec. 43.170. 253RD JUDICIAL DISTRICT. (a) The voters of 8 Liberty County [the 253rd Judicial District] elect a district 9 attorney for the 253rd Judicial District who represents the state 10 in that district only in that county and in all cases before the 11 75th District Court[, 253rd, and 344th district courts]. 12 13 (b) The <u>Commissioners Court</u> [<del>commissioners court</del>] of Liberty County [one or more of the counties comprising the 14 15 district] may supplement the state salary of the district attorney. [The supplemental compensation may not exceed \$5,000 a year. The 16 Commissioners Court of Chambers County shall pay 40 percent of any 17 18 supplemental compensation, and the Commissioners Court of Liberty County shall pay 60 percent. The supplemental compensation must be 19 paid from the officers' salary fund of the county. If the officers' 20 21 salary fund of a county is not adequate, the commissioners court may 22 transfer the necessary amount from the general fund of the county.] SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 43, Government Code, is 23 amended by adding Section 43.1777 to read as follows: 24

79R7990 KLA-F

1

H.B. No. 2569 Sec. 43.1777. 344TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT. (a) The voters of 1 2 the 344th Judicial District elect a district attorney who represents the state in cases before the district courts of 3 4 Chambers County. 5 (b) The Commissioners Court of Chambers County may 6 supplement the state salary of the district attorney. The 7 supplemental compensation may not exceed \$5,000 a year. SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to 8 9 read as follows: Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 10 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state 11 12 prosecutors: (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 13 14 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 15 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 16 17 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 18 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 19 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts; 20 21 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, 22 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, 23 24 Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, 25 26 Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, 27 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller,

2

H.B. No. 2569

1 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,
Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and
Willacy.

8

SECTION 4. This Act takes effect January 1, 2009.