## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Tyler's Robert E. Lee High School has captured the state Class 5A Division I football championship for the first time in the school's 46-year history, and this memorable milestone is

4 indeed worthy of special celebration; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

5 WHEREAS, In a tense contest played out before an estimated 6 crowd of 15,000 in San Antonio's Alamodome, the Red Raiders played 7 the game of their lives with grit, grace, and determination, 8 thwarting Spring Westfield's last-minute attempt to wrest their 9 victory from them; and

WHEREAS, The team that brought statewide gridiron glory to the halls of Robert E. Lee includes Cole Scates, Tony Bush, Tyrone Ross, Lance Heap, Tekerrian Cuba, Jeremy Moore, Preston Hill, Nic Mitchell, Adrian Beard, Josh Hill, Drew White, Quett Nicholson, Crews Fry, Errik Ejike, Jason Stripling, Jonathan Williams, Cordero Mumphrey, Michael Fuller, Andevron Parchman, Justin Hanson, Josh Kegler, Micah Johnson, Walter Simpson, Tyler Vega, Dominique Vanzant, Nathan Tucker, Brad Royall, Peyton Price, Justin Williams, George Faber, Jason Williams, Matt Uzzell, Colby Wray, Josh Bourque, Kaleb Foster, Ricky Sherfield, Jon Giles, Chad Jarrell, Warren DeHaven, Justin Simmons, Tyler Owens, Sam Banks, Blake Larmon, Trevor Reed, Jacoby McKenzie, Jess Roberts, Andrew Baley, Chase Carlton, Ryan McSwane, John Henegar, Darius Porter, Steven Christian, Beau Bambrey, Jordan Clements, Matt Holland, Gabriel

Lacy, Artavius Williams, Bobby Osborn, Frankie Gross, Lynn Gibson,

H.C.R. No. 21

- Josh Kersh, Brian Culp, Mario Trimble, Ryan Jinwright, Nick McLean,
- 2 Ryan Davenport, Trevor Harris, Quanterran Moore, Ciron Black, Tyler
- 3 Fleet, Jonah Murphy, James Wilson, Justin Watts, Jacob Amie,
- 4 Michael Mason, DeAngelo Jones, Jansen Ruyle, Matt Mullins, Taj Lee,
- 5 Rodrick Brown, Marcus Jackson, and Tim Hayter; and
- 6 WHEREAS, These fine young athletes were trained in the
- 7 fundamentals of the game by an accomplished coaching staff that
- 8 includes head coach Mike Owens; assistants Jay Law, Dow Wynn, Randy
- 9 Huffstickler, Gary Fleet, Jerry Reed, Willie Williams, Darold
- 10 Turner, and Peyton Mullins; freshmen assistants Elgin Johnson, Mike
- 11 Pirtle, Randy Clift, David Howard, and Paul Frye; trainers Weldon
- 12 Thompson, Amanda Jenkins, Herb Pena, Robert Carlile, Chris Cedillo,
- 13 Haley Vincent, and Zephen Cannon; student managers Chris Procell
- and John Garrett; and interpreter Dee Roden; and
- WHEREAS, Robert E. Lee's Red Raiders are a source of
- 16 tremendous pride to their fellow Tyler residents, and their
- outstanding achievement in the 2004 season surely presages further
- 18 gridiron greatness; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 20 hereby congratulate the Red Raiders of Robert E. Lee High School on
- 21 winning the state Class 5A Division I football championship.

Berman

тт	$\alpha$	Ъ	NT -	$\sim 1$
н	( '	R	NΩ	<i>/</i> / /

	H.C.R. No. 21
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No	o. 21 was adopted by the House on March
1, 2005, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R.	No. 21 was adopted by the Senate on
March 1, 2005, by a viva-voce	vote.
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	