H.C.R. No. 50

By: Hilderbran

## CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Leadership Kerr County is celebrating its 20th 2 anniversary in 2005, and this occasion provides a fitting 3 opportunity to honor this noteworthy organization; and

WHEREAS, In the fall of 1985, 21 dedicated community leaders came together in an effort to become better informed on vital civic matters, including rapid change and its effects, environmental concerns, economic development recruiting and fluctuations, and population growth; and

9 WHEREAS, A project of the Kerrville Area Chamber of Commerce 10 and Schreiner University, Leadership Kerr County challenges its 11 participants to increase their knowledge of important public 12 issues, encourages students to acquaint themselves with community 13 needs and problems while evaluating possible solutions, and invites 14 them to meet and exchange ideas with present leaders; and

15 WHEREAS, A host of esteemed Hill Country residents are among 16 the program's more than 400 alumni, including current City of 17 Kerrville Mayor, Stephen Fine; City of Kerrville Councilman, David 18 Wampler; Kerr County Judge, Pat Tinley; former Kerr County Judge, 19 Fred Henneke; District Court Judge, Stephen Ables; former Kerr 20 County Attorney, David Motley; and five past chairmen of the 21 Kerrville Area Chamber of Commerce; and

22 WHEREAS, Endeavoring to build a more informed and involved 23 citizenry and to develop new leaders, this invaluable program, and 24 all those associated with it, are helping to build a brighter and

1

more promising future for the Lone Star State, and it is a pleasure to join with them in celebration of two decades of accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

H.C.R. No. 50

4 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas 5 hereby honor Leadership Kerr County on its 20th anniversary and 6 extend to its participants sincere best wishes for continued 7 success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

2