H.C.R. No. 60

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Gail Platt of Lubbock has served as president of the
- 2 Texas Community College Teachers Association (TCCTA) for
- 3 2004-2005, and her 20 years of membership in that respected
- 4 organization reflect her longstanding dedication to the students,
- 5 faculty, and educational institutions of Texas; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Composed of educators from all public and
- 7 independent community, junior, and technical colleges in the State
- 8 of Texas, TCCTA is by far the largest organization of postsecondary
- 9 educators in the state; Dr. Platt has also served the association as
- 10 president-elect, vice president, and treasurer, provided
- 11 leadership on the Professional Development Committee, and acted as
- 12 a TCCTA campus representative; and
- WHEREAS, Since 2000, Dr. Platt has distinguished herself as
- 14 director of the Teaching and Learning Center at South Plains
- 15 College in Levelland, where she helped develop an award-winning
- 16 student services support program; named the Texas Developmental
- 17 Educator of the Year in 1999, she was the project director of Title
- 18  $\,$  III programs from 2000 to 2004 and is the director of Title  $\,$  V
- 19 programs for 2004-2009; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Platt also serves as co-chair of the Texas
- 21 Success Initiative Advisory Committee to the Texas Higher Education
- 22 Coordinating Board; and
- 23 WHEREAS, While sharing her expertise with numerous
- 24 professional organizations, including the College Reading and

H.C.R. No. 60

- 1 Learning Association, the Texas Association of Developmental
- 2 Education, and the National Association of Women in Education, she
- 3 has also found time in her busy schedule to give back to her
- 4 community through her involvement with area organizations such as
- 5 the Lubbock Area Literacy Coalition, Lubbock Arts Festival, and
- 6 Lubbock League of Women Voters; and
- WHEREAS, A person of great integrity and courage, Gail Platt
- 8 has helped ensure success for the students and graduates of Texas
- 9 colleges and universities by working tirelessly to preserve high
- 10 academic standards; she has always given unsparingly of her time
- 11 and talents and has executed her duties and responsibilities with
- 12 enthusiasm, perseverance, diligence, and professionalism, and in
- 13 so doing, she has brought great credit to her institution, her
- 14 professional associations, and the teaching profession; now,
- 15 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 17 hereby recognize Gail Platt for her outstanding service to the
- 18 Texas Community College Teachers Association and commend her for
- 19 her innumerable contributions to higher education in the Lone Star
- 20 State; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Dr. Platt as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives and Senate.

Isett

## H.C.R. No. 60

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

				]	Н.С.	R. No.	60
President of the Senate		Ç	Speaker (	of th	ıe Ho	ouse	
I certify that H.C.R.	No. 60	was	adopted	by	the	House	on
February 17, 2005, by a non-re	cord vot	ce.					
	_	C	hief Cle	rk of	E the	e House	
I certify that H.C.R. February 28, 2005, by a viva-v			adopted	by t	the	Senate	on
	_	<u>, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , </u>	Secretar	y of	the	Senate	
APPROVED:Date							
Governor							