H.C.R. No. 61

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, People from Rusk County are assembling at the State
 Capitol to celebrate Rusk County Day on February 10, 2005; and

3 WHEREAS, This East Texas county sits near the edge of the 4 Texas-Louisiana divide, drained by the headwaters of the Sabine and 5 Angelina Rivers; located 120 miles southeast of Dallas, the 6 picturesque landscape includes piney woods, red clay hills, and 7 lush valleys; and

8 WHEREAS, Officially established by the Congress of the 9 Republic of Texas on January 16, 1843, it was named for General 10 Thomas J. Rusk, who had served as secretary of war under Sam 11 Houston; and

12 WHEREAS, In 1930, the county's economy changed dramatically 13 with the discovery of the East Texas Oil Field, six miles west of 14 Henderson, the county seat; since then, the population has grown to 15 include more than 45,000 citizens, and the economy thrives on oil, 16 agribusiness, light industry, and tourism; today, Rusk County ranks 17 among the top five counties in the state for oil production; and

18 WHEREAS, With a significant appreciation for the past, the 19 city of Henderson is home to many historical landmarks, including 20 the M. Kangerga House, the Howard-Dickinson House, and the T. J. 21 Walling Log Cabin; it joins other notable towns dotting the county 22 such as New London, Overton, and Mount Enterprise; and

WHEREAS, With its natural beauty, history, and prosperity,
Rusk County stands apart as a truly unique part of the Lone Star

1

H.C.R. No. 61 1 State, and its citizens should be proud to claim allegiance to such 2 a vibrant county; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas 4 hereby recognize February 10, 2005, as Rusk County Day at the State 5 Capitol and extend to all participants a warm welcome.

Hopson

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.C.R. No. 61

Menendez

H.C.R. No. 61

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 61 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 61 was adopted by the Senate on February 10, 2005, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor