## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Panola County are gathering at the 2 State Capitol on February 22, 2005, to celebrate the indelible role 3 their county has played in the history of our great state; and WHEREAS, The First Legislature of Texas officially created 4 5 Panola County on March 30, 1846; Judge John Allison, a prominent 6 civic leader, suggested the name Panola, which is derived from the Cherokee word for cotton, "ponolo"; the region reaped the rewards 7 of its cotton-friendly soil, and it soon became the county's main 8 cash crop; today, Panola County enjoys a diversified economy, 9 primarily based in oil and gas, coal, agriculture, and timber; and 10 11 WHEREAS, Located in the Timberlands region of Northeast Texas 12 bordering Louisiana, Panola County has a dense, attractive landscape that consists of more than 800 square miles of gentle 13 14 plains and scenic woodlands; the county is a desirable destination for visitors who enjoy the splendid benefits of nature and outdoor 15 recreational activities, such as fishing in freshwater lakes; and 16 WHEREAS, The area's historic sites and cultural attractions 17 18 also draw many visitors to Carthage, the county seat, as well as to other charming towns, such as Beckville, Bethany, Clayton, Gary, 19 DeBerry, Pulaski, and Fairplay, the oldest community in the county; 20 21 Carthage also boasts the Texas Country Music Hall of Fame, the Tex Ritter Museum, and the Jim Reeves Memorial; and 22

played an important part in preserving their region's past, and it

23

24

WHEREAS, The residents of this historic Texas county have

H.C.R. No. 72

- 1 is a pleasure to pay tribute to Panola County and its citizens on
- 2 this special day; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 4 hereby designate February 22, 2005, Panola County Day at the State
- 5 Capitol and extend to the delegation here today sincere best wishes
- 6 for an enjoyable visit.

Hopson

## H.C.R. No. 72

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

				I	н.с.	R. No.	72
President of the Senate		(	Speaker (	of th	е Но	ouse	
I certify that H.C.R.			adopted	by	the	House	on
February 22, 2005, by a non-re	ecora vot _						
		Chief Clerk of the House					
I certify that H.C.R.			adopted	by t	he	Senate	on
February 22, 2005, by a viva-v	oce vote	•					
	_	Ç	Secretar	y of	the	Senate	
APPROVED:							
Date							
Governor							