H.C.R. No. 75

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Kilgore High School Bulldogs football team has reached the pinnacle of success by winning the 2004 UIL Class 4A Division II State Football Championship, the school's first ever in qridiron competition; and

5 WHEREAS, Capping a school record-setting 16-0 season, the 6 Kilgore Bulldogs have claimed the coveted state crown with a 7 hard-fought victory over a worthy opponent, the Dallas Lincoln High 8 School Tigers, at Baylor University's Floyd Casey Stadium; and

WHEREAS, Members of this outstanding Bulldog football squad 9 include Pat McCrory, Trey Sands, Nick Sanders, Bronkale Kenney, 10 Keith Gilliam, Daren Chappell, Chase Fisher, Antonio Henderson, 11 12 Michael Cottier, Kendrick Brown, Jamar Bornes, Rudy Galvan, 13 Courtney Thomas, Keonta Robinson, Keith Lampkin, Jaron Shepherd, 14 Kaleb Nix, Kurt Rossum, Cory League, Brandon Morgan, Tim Davis, 15 Chris Harvey, Casey Whitmer, Antonio Kelly, Kyle Shipp, Eddie 16 Jones, Eddie Rutherford, Chase Patterson, Kendrick Ector, Derrell Moore, Billy Slagle, Josh Mathis, Daniel Swaim, Buddy Davis, Austen 17 18 Gideon, David Whipkey, Peter Schill, Stephen Foster, Michael Huey, Josh Slagle, Jared Price, Mario Schill, Ryan Whitmer, Adam Wiggins, 19 Joey White, Scipio Sholars, Matt Morris, Jordan Moore, Lon Roberts, 20 21 Edgar Sanchez, Britt Mitchell, Shane Shaw, Justin Clark, Bryan 22 Brantley, Wayne Daniels, Lawrence Emeadi, Coty Gatewood, Bobby 23 Curnutt, Diego Orta, Paul Springer, Daniel Wheeler, and Artineal 24 Gardner; these talented players received invaluable support from

H.C.R. No. 75

trainers Phillip Mitchell, Brandon Welborn, Ciro Alvarez, Andrew Beason, Creed Hamill, Juan Venegas, Jeremy Armeida, Justin Climer, and Stephen Burch, as well as ball boys Logan Preston and Seth Whisenhunt; and

WHEREAS, 5 Coach of the Year Mike Vallery provided 6 inspirational leadership and guidance to his young charges, 7 enabling his players to achieve their ultimate goal of claiming the 8 school's first state football championship; Coach Vallery was ably Ferro, defensive 9 assisted by offensive coordinator Kenny coordinator Mike Wood, assistant athletic director Doug Duke, 10 athletic trainers Darrell Ganus and Kelly Gray, athletic secretary 11 12 Debbie Copeland, and coaches Chris Vallery, Kyle Preston, Jay Dean, Les Loper, Charles Presley, Drenon Fite, Keith Meyers, Mark Roskos, 13 14 Jim Hargett, Whitney Keeling, John Lewis, Kris Duplissey, and Jerry 15 Reddic; and

WHEREAS, The 2004 Kilgore Bulldogs 16 earned numerous 17 accolades, including the Class 4A Game of the Year award for their 33-27 double overtime victory over Dallas Lincoln for that 18 state championship title; play of the year went to Nick Sanders for a 19 game-winning blocked field goal return for a touchdown in their 20 21 victory over Dallas Lincoln; individual honors were given to Keith Gilliam, who was named 4A Player of the Year by Texas Football 22 magazine and Fox Sports Network, and Eddie Jones, who received the 23 24 prestigious defensive player of the year recognition from Blitzy's TV Show; and 25

26 WHEREAS, First-team players for the 2004 All-Smoaky.com high 27 school football team were Keith Gilliam, Jordan Moore, Billy

H.C.R. No. 75 1 Slagle, Eddie Jones, and Nick Sanders; second-team players were 2 Courtney Thomas, Lon Roberts, Antonio Henderson, and Nick Sanders; 3 third-team player was Pat McCrory; and

4 WHEREAS, The District 17 4A All-District honorees include 5 most valuable player Keith Gilliam, defensive lineman of the year, Eddie Jones, offensive lineman of the year, Billy Slagle, kick/punt 6 7 returner of the year, Nick Sanders, offensive newcomer of the year, 8 Derrell Moore, and defensive newcomer of the year, Jason Shepherd; the first team was composed of Chase Fisher, Courtney Thomas, Lon 9 10 Roberts, Jordan Moore, Lawrence Emadi, Wayne Daniels, Antonio 11 Henderson, Trey Sands, Nick Sanders, and Pat McCrory; second team 12 included Nick Sanders, Britt Mitchell, Bronkale Kenny, Rudy Galvan, Coty Gatewood, Courtney Thomas, and Rudy Galvan; honorable mention 13 recipients were Daniel Swaim, Josh Mathis, Ryan Whitman, Chase 14 Patterson, Antonio Kelly, Chris Harvey, Brandon Morgan, Artineal 15 Gardner, and Buddy Davis; and 16

WHEREAS, All-East Texas award winners were offensive player 17 of the year, Keith Gilliam, defensive player of the year, Eddie 18 Jones, and return specialist, Nick Sanders; the first team had 19 Billy Slagle, Keith Gilliam, Lon Roberts, Courtney Thomas, Eddie 20 21 Jones, Wayne Daniels, Antonio Henderson, Nick Sanders, and Trey Sands; second-stringers included Britt Mitchell, Jordan Moore, and 22 23 Rudy Galvan; honorable mention recipients were Bronkale Kenny, 24 Lawrence Emadi, Courtney Thomas, and Pat McCrory; and

25 WHEREAS, The 4A All-State offensive player of the year was 26 Keith Gilliam, and his first-team members included Billy Slagle, 27 Eddie Jones, Wayne Daniels, and Antonio Henderson; the second-team

H.C.R. No. 75
1 player was Nick Sanders, and third-team players were Lon Roberts,
2 Courtney Thomas, Britt Mitchell, and Nick Sanders; and

3 WHEREAS, These exceptional football players, together with 4 their coaches and staff, are a source of tremendous pride to the 5 students and faculty at Kilgore High School, as well as their many 6 supporters in the community, and it is most appropriate that they be 7 honored for their impressive achievement; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas 9 hereby congratulate the members, coaches, and staff of the Kilgore 10 High School football team, as well as superintendent Jerry Roberts 11 and principal Bobby Wheeley, on winning the 2004 UIL Class 4A 12 Division II State Football Championship and extend to them sincere 13 best wishes for future success and happiness; and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for Kilgore High School as an expression of the sentiment 16 of the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Merritt

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.C.R. No. 75

Menendez

H.C.R. No. 75

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 75 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 75 was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2005, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor