H.C.R. No. 76

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Tyler Willis of Brownfield was crowned Miss Texas USA and named Miss Congeniality in June 2004, and she will 2

3 undoubtedly represent her fellow citizens with dignity and grace in

the Miss USA pageant on April 11, 2005, in Baltimore; and 4

WHEREAS, Selected from a group of lovely and talented contestants, Ms. Willis was crowned Miss Texas not only for her beauty but also for her commitment to the youth of her community; in 7 2002, she and her mother, a school counselor, launched a character development program for the children of the Brownfield school district to "develop the leader within"; the program consists of assemblies and classroom instruction in four basic areas: self-esteem, goal-setting, responsibility, and truth/integrity;

13 and

5

6

8

9

10

11

12

14

15

16

17

18

19

WHEREAS, In addition to working with children, Ms. Willis earned her bachelor's and master's degrees from Texas Tech University; she regularly speaks at special events and volunteers for the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation; furthermore, she has also served as spokesperson for Women's Protective Services; and

WHEREAS, A worthy role model for all young Texans, Tyler 20 21 Willis serves as an outstanding goodwill ambassador for the Lone 22 Star State, and she may look forward to a future bright with 23 promise; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas 24

H.C.R. No. 76

- 1 hereby congratulate Tyler Willis on being named Miss Texas USA and
- 2 extend to her sincere best wishes for success in the Miss USA 2005
- 3 pageant and in all her future endeavors; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Willis as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives and Senate.

Laney

H.C.R. No. 76

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

	H.C.R. No. 76
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No	. 76 was adopted by the House on March
1, 2005, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. March 1, 2005, by a viva-voce v	No. 76 was adopted by the Senate on ote.
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:Date	
Governor	