By: Anderson H.C.R. No. 80

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, On December 18th, 2004, the Crawford High School
- 2 Pirates finished a perfect 16-0 season with a 28-14 win in the UIL
- 3 Class 2A Division II Football Championship; and
- WHEREAS, Paced by an offense rolling up 5,370 yards and led by
- 5 a defense preserving six shutout victories, including four in a
- 6 row, this team exemplifies the character and unity needed to endure
- 7 a long season while maintaining a "championship effort"; and
- 8 WHEREAS, This effort came from a 39-man squad led by fifteen
- 9 seniors, and peppered with honors at the district, regional, and
- 10 state levels; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Guided by a coaching staff which would itself earn
- 12 its own very deserving accolades, including Head Coach Robert
- 13 Murphy being named Co-Coach of The Year by the Waco Tribune-Herald;
- 14 and
- WHEREAS, The individual tales of overcoming adversity,
- injury, and near-losses filled the community with inspiration, and
- 17 provided a unifying symbol of heart and integrity for the community
- 18 to rally around; and
- 19 WHEREAS, In displaying such exceeding levels of both skill
- 20 and character, these young men displayed the tools necessary to
- 21 become winners off the field, now therefore be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 23 hereby congratulate and honor the State Champion Crawford Pirates
- on their undefeated season; and be it further

H.C.R. No. 80

1 RESOLVED, That congratulations be extended to the entire 2 Pirates team, including head coach Robert Murphy; assistant coaches Delbert Kelm, Ronnie Bruce, Clark Moore, Greg Jacobs, and Alan 3 4 Abel; players Tanner Jacobs, Derek Dumas, Travis Slaughter, Shawn 5 Fulwinder, Will Houck, Jad Tawater, Pedro Rodriguez, Justin 6 Blancett, Grayson Buster, Brett Duncan, Zak Kleypas, Lee Murphy, 7 B.J. Christian, Sam Moody, Jerad Hinson, Todd Westerfield, Andrew 8 Judy, Reagan Hejl, Kendall Ellison, Lee Ward, Justin May, Austin 9 Dixon, Aaron Nolte, Ryan Dillon, Andrew Mendoza, Justin Bullard, 10 Sammy Fisher, Robie Bain, Hunter Brown, Garrett Gonzalez, Dwight Moody, C.K. King, Jeff Calvillo, Zac Munro, Nick Gorham, Jason 11 12 Velasquez, Justin Law, Adam Murphy, and Mark Lowe; and managers Carter Blenden, Brock Jacobs, Chane Lynch, Tyler Bullard, Bryce 13 14 Duncan, Levi Ellison, Cameron Kendrick, Tye Slaughter, Kent Miller, 15 and Tyler Nemec; and be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 16 17 prepared for Crawford High School as an expression of high regard by

the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

18