H.C.R. No. 123

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Ennis High School Lions football team again 2 ascended to the pinnacle of success after winning the 2004 Class 4A 3 Division I state championship, adding yet another memorable chapter to the school's legacy of football excellence; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Electrifying a crowd of more than 29,000 people at Texas Stadium, Ennis overcame Marshall 23-21 in a nail-biter of a 6 championship game in which the Lions tallied two fumble recoveries, 7 an intercepted pass, a safety, and a special teams touchdown to 8 capture the school's third state football title in five years; and 9 WHEREAS, The 2004 Ennis Lions football squad includes the 10 11 following talented athletes: Melvin Polk, Marc Malone, Jeremy 12 Brown, Ryan Marinez, Clark Harrell, Andrew Novak, Chase Willingham, 13 Kordel Griffin, Charles Sallie, Taylor Evans, Jake Brown, Dennis 14 Beasley, J. J. Vinson, Barron Lockhart, Chris Lewis, Patrick Roberts, Travis Wallace, Herchel Hunt, Terron Herford, Brandon 15 16 Falkenbach, Jarred Tims, Courtney Henderson, Michael Davis, Scotty Thornton, Aaron Blackshire, Brannon Wood, Kellen Monreal, Dustin 17 18 Mireles, Jerad Taylor, Bryan Norton, Lee King, Jared Munn, Derek Doyle, Drew Mitchell, Jason Watson, Roy Mata, Toby Mash, Matt 19 Kelly, Anthony Jurcik, Dale Walker, Andy Arteaga, Clay Gillespie, 20 21 Rolando Herrera, Alex Popp, Patrick Snodgrass, Brandon Honza, 22 Brandon Novy, Larry Clem, Tim Culver, T. J. Smith, Mathew Slovacek, 23 Brad Chmelar, Chris Mummert, Issac Steele, Tommy Aguilar, Brent 24 Estes, Alex Shugart, Cortney Brooks, Jyron Walker, Mario Vasquez, Jacob Yrlas, Josh Young, Stanton Beckham, Robb Rose, Mervin 25

- 1 Williams, and Greg Jones; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Ably schooling these young athletes in the game's
- 3 fundamentals while instilling in them the values of good
- 4 sportsmanship and hard work were coaches Sam Harrell, Steve Marrow,
- 5 Paul Willingham, Jeff Berry, Andy Cellars, Kevin Kalinec, Nathan
- 6 Cooper, Wayne Walker, Brian Rogers, Bryan Hallmark, Vance Barton,
- 7 Eric Pierce, Randy Yarber, Bryan Clark, Casey Clem, Justin
- 8 Gilbreath, and Alex Rendon; they were supported in their efforts by
- 9 trainer Chad McCune and student trainers Ayana Walker, Brittany
- 10 Thomas, Angela Lawrence, Bittania Smith, Hilary Ross, Ginny
- 11 Eckeberger, Stephanie Franklin, Kathryn Elsie, Donya Carter,
- 12 Patrice Jackson, Kira Phillips, Erika Keilers, and Amanda Ciardo;
- 13 and
- 14 WHEREAS, Demonstrating the commitment to excellence that
- 15 marks true champions, the Ennis football team's players are a
- 16 source of tremendous pride to their families and friends; now,
- 17 therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 19 hereby congratulate the players, coaches, and staff members of the
- 20 Ennis High School Lions football team for winning the 2004 Class 4A
- 21 Division I state championship and commend them on their outstanding
- 22 season; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for prominent display at Ennis High School as an
- 25 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and
- 26 Senate.

Pitts

H.C.R. No. 123

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Gonzales Allen of Dallas Miller Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Baxter Naishtat Guillen Berman Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Oliveira Bohac Hamilton Bonnen Hamric Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Riddle Hopson Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Rodriguez Corte Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Keel Solomons Denny Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Dutton Taylor Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Farrar Madden Villarreal Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Н	C	D	$M \cap$	123

			н.С.	K. NO.	123	
President of the Senate		Speaker of the House				
I certify that H.C.R. March 29, 2005, by a non-recor		was adopted	by the	House	on	
	_	Chief Cler	k of th	e House		
I certify that H.C.R. March 29, 2005, by a viva-voce		was adopted	by the	Senate	on	
	_	Secretary	of the	Senate		
APPROVED:Date						
Governor						