H.C.R. No. 142

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Baylor University Lady Bears basketball team has completed a phenomenal season by winning the 2005 NCAA Women's National Basketball Championship, and the players and coaches of this superlative team are indeed deserving of special recognition for this significant accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Bears captured their first national title
by dominating a talented Michigan State team at the RCA Dome in
Indianapolis, Indiana; the Big 12 champions defeated the Spartans
by the score of 84-62, relying on brilliant guard play, unrelenting
defensive pressure, and timely and accurate three-point shooting to
win the crown; and

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, With their national championship triumph, the Lady Bears completed the 2004-2005 season with a 20-game winning streak and an impressive 33-3 record; the team's road to the championship included a remarkable win over top-ranked Louisiana State University that was highlighted by a memorable first-half comeback and a refuse-to-lose attitude that carried the Lady Bears to victory in the second half; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Bears have prospered under the direction of head coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson, who has infused Baylor's basketball program with great intensity during her five-year tenure; she has been aided in her efforts by associate head coach Bill Brock, assistant coaches Johnny Derrick and Jennifer Roberts, and graduate assistant Mike Snaufer; and

H.C.R. No. 142

WHEREAS, Members of the 2005 National Championship team 1 2 include starters Sophia Young, Chameka Scott, Chelsea Whitaker, 3 Abiola Wabara, and Steffanie Blackmon and reserves Emily Niemann, Latoya Wyatt, Angela Tisdale, Melanie Hamerly, Chanelle Fox, Jordan 4 5 Davis, Monique Jones, Tiffanie Blackmon, Victoria Jones, and Chisa Ononiwu; these young women demonstrated a commitment to teamwork on 6 7 both offense and defense throughout the season, combining their 8 remarkable skill and athleticism with an uncompromising work ethic 9 to produce a national championship team; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Bears and their coaches and staff have created a tremendous surge of pride among members of the Baylor University community and the citizens of Waco, and it is a pleasure to honor them at this time; now, therefore, be it

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby congratulate Coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson and the Baylor Lady Bears for winning the 2005 NCAA Women's National Basketball Championship and extend best wishes to the many individuals who contributed to this remarkable achievement; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 21 House of Representatives and Senate.

Dunnam
Eiland
McCall
Davis of Harris
Hughes
Phillips

Mowery Jones of Dallas Anderson Goodman Paxton Taylor

H.C.R. No. 142

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

			н.С.Б	R. No.	142
President of the Senate		Speaker of the House			
I certify that H.C.R.	No. 142	was adopted	l by the	House	on
April 6, 2005, by a non-record	d vote.				
	_	Chief Cle	rk of the	e House	
I certify that H.C.R.	No. 142	was adopted	by the	Senate	on
April 14, 2005, by a viva-voce	e vote.				
		Secretar	y of the	Senate	
APPROVED:					
Date					
Governor					