By: Dunnam

H.C.R. No. 142

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Baylor University Lady Bears basketball team has 2 completed a phenomenal season by winning the 2005 NCAA Women's 3 National Basketball Championship, and the players and coaches of 4 this superlative team are indeed deserving of special recognition 5 for this significant accomplishment; and

6 WHEREAS, The Lady Bears captured their first national title 7 by dominating a talented Michigan State team at the RCA Dome in 8 Indianapolis, Indiana; the Big 12 champions defeated the Spartans 9 by the score of 84-62, relying on brilliant guard play, unrelenting 10 defensive pressure, and timely and accurate 3-point shooting to win 11 the crown; and

WHEREAS, With their national championship triumph, the Lady Bears completed the 2004-2005 season with a 20-game winning streak and an impressive 33-3 record; the team's road to the championship included a remarkable win over top-ranked Louisiana State University that was highlighted by a memorable first-half comeback and a refuse-to-lose attitude that carried the Lady Bears to victory in the second half; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Bears have prospered under the direction of head coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson, who has infused Baylor's basketball program with great intensity during her five-year tenure; she has been aided in her efforts by associate head coach Bill Brock, assistant coaches Johnny Derrick and Jennifer Roberts, and graduate assistant Mike Snaufer; and

1

H.C.R. No. 142

WHEREAS, Members of the 2005 National Championship team 1 2 include starters Sophia Young, Chameka Scott, Chelsea Whitaker, Abiola Wabara, and Steffanie Blackmon and reserves Emily Niemann, 3 4 Latoya Wyatt, Angela Tisdale, Melanie Hamerly, Chanelle Fox, Jordan 5 Davis, Monique Jones, Tiffanie Blackmon, Victoria Jones, and Chisa 6 Ononiwu; these young women demonstrated a commitment to teamwork on both offense and defense throughout the season, combining their 7 8 remarkable skill and athleticism with an uncompromising work ethic 9 to produce a national championship team; and

10 WHEREAS, The Lady Bears and their coaches and staff have 11 created a tremendous surge of pride among members of the Baylor 12 University community and the citizens of Waco, and it is a pleasure 13 to honor them at this time; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby congratulate Coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson and the Baylor Lady Bears for winning the 2005 NCAA Women's National Basketball Championship and extend best wishes to the many individuals who contributed to this remarkable achievement; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 21 House of Representatives and Senate.

2