H.C.R. No. 156

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Citizens across the State of Texas are joining 2 others around the world in observance of Holocaust Remembrance Day 3 on May 9, 2005, to honor victims and survivors of the Holocaust and 4 their families and liberators; and

5 WHEREAS, Each year this event, also called Yom HaShoah, is 6 observed on the fifth day following the eighth day of Passover; it 7 unites a global community in interfaith services and encourages all 8 people to come together to reflect on the consequences of violence 9 against our fellowman; and

10 WHEREAS, During the commemoration, citizens pay their 11 respects to those who lost their lives, honor those who survived, 12 and pray for a future free of hatred and prejudice; it is a time to 13 remember the tragedy inflicted on the Jewish people and to seek 14 reconciliation and the renewal of a deeper faith in humanity; and

15 WHEREAS, On this 60th anniversary of the end of World War II, 16 Holocaust survivors, liberators, and representatives of Holocaust 17 museums in the state are being recognized at a special reception in 18 their honor, one of many events taking place around the globe; and

WHEREAS, The wounds from this tragic moment in our collective history may never heal, but they are certainly easier to bear when we join hands with others in remembrance and in a pledge to tolerance and respect; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas 24 hereby commemorate Holocaust Remembrance Day on May 9, 2005, and

1

H.C.R. No. 156

extend to all those observing this special day sincere best wishes
for a meaningful event.

Nixon Hochberg Naishtat Straus

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.C.R. No. 156

Menendez

H.C.R. No. 156

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 156 was adopted by the House on May 9, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 156 was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2005, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor