H.C.R. No. 214

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Commission on the Arts has announced the 2 2005 and 2006 appointments for the positions of State Poet 3 Laureate, State Musician, State Two-Dimensional Artist, and State 4 Three-Dimensional Artist; and

5 WHEREAS, Honorees are chosen for the exceptional quality of 6 their work and for their outstanding commitment to the arts in 7 Texas; the 2005 appointees are Texas Poet Laureate Alan Birkelbach 8 of Plano, Texas State Musician Johnny Gimble of Tyler, Texas State 9 Two-Dimensional Artist Kathy Vargas of San Antonio, and Texas State 10 Three-Dimensional Artist Sharon Kopriva of Houston; and

WHEREAS, The 2006 appointees include Texas Poet Laureate Red Steagall of Fort Worth, Texas State Musician Billy Joe Shaver of Waco, Texas State Two-Dimensional Artist George Boutwell of Bosque, and Texas State Three-Dimensional Artist James Surls of Athens; and

WHEREAS, Nominees for these prestigious positions must either be native Texans or have resided in the state for at least five years; in addition, they must have received critical reviews in state, regional, or national publications, and they must have achieved recognition for high levels of excellence and success in their respective disciplines; and

21 WHEREAS, To be considered for the position of State Poet 22 Laureate, nominees must have compiled a substantial body of work, 23 including at least one publication that is not a self-published or 24 vanity-press release; State Musician nominees must have produced a

1

H.C.R. No. 214

substantial body of work, including at least two nationally available records, or taught music for at least 20 years in a formal classroom, or they must receive the majority of their income from musical endeavors; State Visual Artist nominees must work in twoor three-dimensional art mediums, must have been represented in at least one one-person show, and must have an extensive history of exhibiting in recognized museums and galleries; and

8 WHEREAS, Nominations are made by Texas citizens and reviewed 9 by the Texas Commission on the Arts, which develops a list of 10 finalists; the Texas Poet Laureate, State Musician, and State 11 Artist Committee, composed of members appointed by the governor, 12 lieutenant governor, and speaker of the house of representatives, 13 makes the final selections; and

14 WHEREAS, The men and women who have been selected to hold 15 these distinguished posts for the next two years have contributed 16 magnificently to the vibrant cultural life of the Lone Star State, 17 and it is indeed a pleasure to recognize them at this time; now, 18 therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas 20 hereby honor the 2005 and 2006 appointees to the positions of State 21 Poet Laureate, State Musician, State Two-Dimensional Artist, and 22 State Three-Dimensional Artist and extend to them sincere best 23 wishes for continued success.

Hilderbran

2

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.C.R. No. 214

Menendez

H.C.R. No. 214

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 214 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 214 was adopted by the Senate on May 27, 2005, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor