H.R. No. 15

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The life of Evelyn Eastham Pitts, which brought so 2 much joy and happiness into the lives of others, ended all too soon 3 with her death on June 6, 2004, at the age of 56, and her passing has 4 brought a tremendous loss to her family and the entire Ellis County 5 community; and

the 6 WHEREAS, А native of Lone Star State, this fourth-generation Ellis County resident was born August 22, 1947, 7 in Dallas; after graduating from Waxahachie High School, she 8 attended Southern Methodist University, where she earned a 9 bachelor's degree in business; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Mrs. Pitts was a proud and active member of the 12 Waxahachie community throughout her life, serving a host of civic 13 organizations, including the Baylor/Waxahachie Hospital Board of 14 Directors, the Waxahachie Parks Board, Historic Waxahachie, the 15 Waxahachie Foundation, the Ellis County Museum Board, the HOPE 16 Clinic Board of Directors, the Waxahachie Symphony Association, and 17 the Nicholas P. Sims Library Capital Campaign Drive; and

WHEREAS, In addition, she lent her time and talents to such worthy groups as the Heirloom Club, the Friday Book Club, the Gardener's Limited Garden Club, Ellis County Republican Women, and the Texas Legislative Wives Club; Mrs. Pitts was also a charter member of the Crape Myrtle Council, a former president of the Waxahachie Ex-Students Association, and a valued member of the First United Methodist Church of Waxahachie; and

1

H.R. No. 15

1 WHEREAS, Mrs. Pitts was recognized for her invaluable 2 contributions to the city in 2003, when she was named First Lady of 3 Waxahachie, an honor bestowed on both her mother, Frances Eastham, 4 and her grandmother, Lena Peters; and

5 WHEREAS, Above all else, this dedicated wife and mother 6 cherished her husband of many years, State Representative Jim 7 Pitts, and her children, Duffy, Ashley, and Ryan; and

8 WHEREAS, A woman of great warmth and kindness, Evelyn Pitts 9 leaves behind an enduring legacy her loved ones will carry with them 10 through the years: treasured memories transported in hearts that 11 will forever remember her sweet laughter, nurturing touch, 12 sustaining love, and boundless compassion; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 13 14 Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of Evelyn 15 Eastham Pitts and extend deepest sympathy to the members of her family: to her husband, State Representative Jim Pitts; to her 16 17 daughters, Ashley Pitts and Duffy Pitts Bloemendal and her husband, Scotty; to her son, Ryan Pitts; to her sister, Ellen Zinn and her 18 husband, Tim; to her niece, Jacqueline Zinn; to her mother-in-law, 19 Agnes Pitts; to her sister-in-law, Rosemary Burns and her husband, 20 21 Bob; to her brother-in-law, John Pitts and his wife, Mary Bain; to her nephews, Mike Burns, John Pitts, Jr., and Jamie Pitts; and to 22 23 her other relatives and countless friends; and, be it further

2

H.R. No. 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Evelyn Eastham Pitts.

McCall

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

Menendez

H.R. No. 15

H.R. No. 15

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 15 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on January 11, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House