By: Chavez

H.R. No. 21

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The El Paso Lighthouse for the Blind has honored 2 several area citizens for their sterling work in support of that 3 agency's philanthropic mission; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1934, this notable organization 4 5 offers training, resources, and services that provide the blind and 6 visually impaired with access to the opportunities and quality of life available to everyone around them; its programs include 7 on-the-job training and employment, youth activities, low-vision 8 and ocular services, Braille classes, transportation, counseling 9 and peer support, and computer technology training, in addition to 10 instruction in orientation, mobility, and independent living 11 12 skills; and

WHEREAS, Recipients of the 2004 Lighthouse awards include 13 14 John McCain, Volunteer of the Year; Victor Galaviz, Federal Contracts Department Employee of the Year; Ester Munoz, State 15 Department Employee of the Year; Lucy Ramirez, 16 Contracts Assembly/Packaging Department Employee of the Year; and Rusty 17 Staff Excellence 18 Hooten, Professional Award-winner; past recipients include Marianne Osgood Fleager, winner of the 2002 19 Professional Staff Excellence Award, and Yolanda Guzman, winner of 20 21 the 2003 Professional Staff Excellence Award; and

22 WHEREAS, For seven decades, the El Paso Lighthouse has 23 provided essential services to the visually impaired of Southwest 24 Texas, and its contributions to the community have been

1

1 immeasurably aided by the outstanding efforts of these dedicated 2 men and women; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 21

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate these esteemed citizens on their receipt of El Paso Lighthouse for the Blind recognition and commend this exemplary organization for its vital support of the visually impaired.