H.R. No. 37

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Charles Munoz, the principal of Thomas Alva Edison 2 High School in San Antonio, has been named the 2004 Region XX 3 Principal of the Year by the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals, and this honor is an ideal opportunity to reflect on 4 5 this dedicated educator's contributions to his fellow Texans; and 6 WHEREAS, A graduate of Louis W. Fox Technical High School, Mr. Munoz earned his bachelor's degree at St. Mary's University and 7 his master's degree in education at Our Lady of the Lake University; 8

9 and

10 WHEREAS, Mr. Munoz first developed his skills as a teacher at 11 Horace Mann Middle School and at Thomas Jefferson High School, 12 where he was promoted to assistant principal; he further honed his 13 administrative skills as principal of John G. Whittier Middle 14 School before coming to Edison High in 1993; and

WHEREAS, Since that time, Mr. Munoz has established himself as an indispensable asset to the Edison community, and the great affection and esteem in which he is held by the school's students is reflected in his nickname of "Papa Bear"; and

WHEREAS, A member of the Fox Tech Distinguished Graduate Hall of Fame and an honorary life member of the Texas Congress of Parents and Teachers, Mr. Munoz has guided and inspired countless young people over the years, and his many contributions to the greater good will continue to resonate for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 37

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Charles Munoz on being named the 3 2004 Region XX Principal of the Year by the Texas Association of 4 Secondary School Principals and extend to him sincere best wishes 5 for continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Munoz as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Martinez Fischer

H.R. No. 37

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 37 was adopted by the House on February 3, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House