RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, George B. Hernandez, Jr., has been named president and chief executive officer of University Health System in Bexar County, and this singular milestone offers an apt opportunity to commend this outstanding Texan for this most recent achievement; and

WHEREAS, Recognized by *U.S. News & World Report* as one of America's Best Hospitals, University Health System is the public hospital district for Bexar County; University Hospital is the primary teaching hospital for The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, and five community clinics offer a full range of medical services; and

WHEREAS, A native San Antonian, Mr. Hernandez received a bachelor's degree from St. Mary's University before going on to earn a law degree from George Washington University in Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, On returning to his hometown, Mr. Hernandez served as an assistant city attorney before becoming chief of the civil section for the Bexar County district attorney's office; and

WHEREAS, In 1990, Mr. Hernandez joined University Health System as vice president of legal services, serving as the organization's general counsel, and in 2000, he was promoted to the positions of executive vice president and assistant administrator; in that capacity, he led several initiatives to strengthen the fiscal health of the organization and improved access to primary

H.R. No. 38

- 1 and specialty care by building strategic partnerships with
- 2 community clinics and private physicians; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Mr. Hernandez brings to his new role as chief
- 4 executive a wealth of knowledge mined from his extensive experience
- 5 with the organization, and his sure grasp of the complex issues
- 6 facing the health care industry will benefit the many men, women,
- 7 and children who have entrusted their health care to University
- 8 Health System; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In rising to the challenges of his new position, Mr.
- 10 Hernandez will continue to draw strength and support from his
- 11 family, including his wife of more than three decades, Adele, and
- 12 their three children, Andres, Antonio, and Elisa; and
- WHEREAS, The first Hispanic president of the health system,
- 14 George B. Hernandez, Jr., has distinguished himself as a vital and
- valued leader, and he is clearly most deserving of this prestigious
- 16 appointment; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby congratulate George B. Hernandez, Jr., on being
- 19 named president and chief executive officer of University Health
- 20 System and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success;
- 21 and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Mr. Hernandez as an expression of high regard by the
- 24 Texas House of Representatives.

Martinez Fischer

CraddickGerenMenendezAllen of HarrisGiddingsMerrittAllen of DallasGonzalesMillerAlonzoGonzalez ToureillesMoreno of

Alonzo Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris
Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso
Anderson Goolsby Morrison
Bailey Griggs Mowery
Baxter Grusendorf Naishtat

Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton

Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond

Coleman Hope Reyna
Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle
Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter
Corte Hughes Rodriguez
Crabb Hunter Rose

CrownoverHuppSeamanDavis of HarrisIsettSmith of TarrantDavis of DallasJacksonSmith of Harris

Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes

King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna

Farrar Madden Villarreal Flores Martinez Vo Flynn Martinez Fischer West Frost McCall Wong

Frost McCall Wong
Gallego McClendon Woolley
Gattis McReynolds Zedler

H.R. No. 38

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 38 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House