H.R. No. 76

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Historical Commission fosters a deeper 2 understanding of the rich legacy of the Lone Star State and bolsters 3 local economies through its Texas Heritage Trails Program; and WHEREAS, establishing partnerships the 4 Ву between 5 preservation community and the tourism industry, the Texas Heritage 6 Trails Program aids in preserving, protecting, and promoting historic and cultural resources, while providing visitors the 7 opportunity to learn about local customs and traditions; and 8 WHEREAS, This outstanding initiative provides technical, 9 educational, and financial assistance to regions throughout the 10 11 state in an effort to help community leaders promote and enhance 12 heritage tourism attractions; since its inception, 10 disparate geographic territories in Texas have been identified, each 13 14 representative of the vibrant Lone Star landscape; designated areas include the Texas Forts, Independence, Forest, Lakes, Brazos, 15 Plains, Mountain, Tropical Trail, Pecos, and Hill Country Regions; 16 and 17 WHEREAS, The Texas Heritage Trails Program has helped to 18 revitalize towns, increase visitation to cultural and historic 19

WHEREAS, The Texas Heritage Trails Program has helped to revitalize towns, increase visitation to cultural and historic sites, and raise awareness of the importance of historic preservation, all while helping to share the colorful and storied history of our great state; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 24 Legislature hereby recognize February 16, 2005, as Texas Heritage

H.R. No. 76

- 1 Trails Day and pay tribute to all those involved with this vital
- 2 enterprise.

Kolkhorst Cook of Colorado CraddickGerenMenendezAllen of HarrisGiddingsMerrittAllen of DallasGonzalesMillerAlonzoGonzalez ToureillesMoreno of Harris

Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso
Anderson Goolsby Morrison
Bailey Griggs Mowery
Baxter Grusendorf Naishtat

Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena

Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Hopson Riddle

Cook of NavarroHopsonRiddleCook of ColoradoHowardRitterCorteHughesRodriguezCrabbHunterRoseCrownoverHuppSeamanDavis of HarrisIsettSmith of Ta

Davis of Harris Isett Smith of Tarrant
Davis of Dallas Jackson Smith of Harris
Dawson Jones of Lubbock Smithee
Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis

Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Kuempel Truitt Turner Laney

Eiland Kuempel Truitt
Eissler Laney Turner
Elkins Laubenberg Uresti
Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale
Farabee Luna Veasey
Farrar Madden Villarreal

Flores Martinez Vo
Flynn Martinez Fischer West
Frost McCall Wong
Gallego McClendon Woolley
Gattis McReynolds Zedler

H.R. No. 76

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 76 was adopted by the House on February 16, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House