RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Citizens of San Antonio are taking part in a public 1 2 march through the streets of downtown on February 5, 2005, in 3 celebration of the Season for Nonviolence, a national educational, media, and grassroots campaign that runs from January 30 to April 4, 4 5 and in commemoration of the 75th anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi's 6 Salt March in India; and WHEREAS, The Season for Nonviolence was cofounded in 1998 by 7 Arun and Sunanda Gandhi of the M. K. Gandhi Institute for 8 Nonviolence; this unique concept has been officially endorsed by 9 numerous individuals who are committed to promoting nonviolence as 10 11 a viable and necessary means of resolving conflict, including 12 Coretta Scott King, Kofi Annan, and His Holiness the Dalai Lama of Tibet; and 13 14 WHEREAS, Many noteworthy religious and secular organizations are taking part in this year's march from the SAMM Shelter to the 15 Arneson River Theatre; members of the San Antonio peaceCENTER, 16 Unity Church, First Unitarian Universalist Church, and Celebration 17 18 Circle are joining with other like-minded individuals to demonstrate the importance and effectiveness of nonviolence; and 19 WHEREAS, Guest speakers for this year's event include march 20 21 leader Arun Gandhi, grandson of famed pacifist Mahatma Gandhi, and Patti Radle, esteemed member of the San Antonio City Council; and 22 23 WHEREAS, Citizens around the world have dedicated themselves 24 to promoting greater awareness and consciousness of the principles

H.R. No. 88

- 1 and practices of nonviolence, and this year's march in San Antonio
- 2 is vital to furthering this worthy cause; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby honor the organizers and participants of the
- 5 march for nonviolence in San Antonio and extend best wishes for a
- 6 successful and memorable event.

McClendon

H.R. No. 88

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 88 was adopted by the House on February 02, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House