H.R. No. 93

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Shelton E. Padgett of San Antonio, whose illustrious career embraced many achievements in law and public service, passed away on July 31, 2004, at the age of 56; and

WHEREAS, Born on June 9, 1948, Mr. Padgett was a native of San Marcos; he earned a bachelor of science degree from Southwest Texas State University and later received a law degree summa cum laude from St. Mary's University; his legal ability then won him a clerkship with the Texas Supreme Court, a position he held for three years before entering the practice of law in the Alamo City; and

WHEREAS, Held in the highest regard by his professional 10 11 peers, Mr. Padgett was board certified as a labor and employment law 12 specialist and was himself a former chair of the Labor Law Advisory 13 Commission, which issues such certifications for the Texas Board of 14 Legal Specialization; he was a fellow of the San Antonio and Texas Bar Foundations and at the time of his passing was the head of the 15 labor and employment law section for the San Antonio office of Akin, 16 Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Mr. Padgett gained further prominence through his 19 involvement in municipal government; he was the current chair of 20 the board of the VIA Transit System and a director of the Austin-San 21 Antonio Intermunicipal Commuter Rail District and San Antonio 22 Mobility Coalition; in addition, he served as a board member of the 23 San Antonio Manufacturers Association, Lutheran General Hospital, 24 Texas Lyceum, and North San Antonio Chamber of Commerce; and

1

H.R. No. 93

1 WHEREAS, Through the years, this esteemed Texan gave critical 2 support to a number of political figures, at all levels of 3 government, who credit his advice and counsel as an essential 4 factor in their electoral success; and

5 WHEREAS, Staunchly loyal to his undergraduate alma mater, 6 Mr. Padgett served as president of the Alumni Association and as 7 trustee of the SWTSU Development Foundation; he was named a 8 distinguished alumnus in 2002, and he was instrumental in the 9 passage of legislation the following year that changed the name of 10 the school to Texas State University--San Marcos; and

11 WHEREAS, A gentleman of exceptional attainments who more than 12 fulfilled the demanding responsibilities of his myriad leadership 13 roles, Shelton Padgett was also a devoted husband and father and a 14 true friend to many; his presence will be deeply missed by all who 15 were privileged to know him; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 17 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Shelton E. Padgett and 18 extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, 19 Marie Padgett; to his son, Shelton Edward Padgett, Jr., and his 20 daughter, Daniela Padgett; to his sisters, Sharon Johnson and 21 Virginia Montgomery; to his uncle and aunt, Carl and A. J. Dobie; 22 and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Shelton E. Padgett.

Martinez Fischer

2

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

Menendez

H.R. No. 93

H.R. No. 93

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 93 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 7, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House