H.R. No. 113

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Representing more than 600 credit unions, the Texas
Credit Union League is the official state trade association serving
credit unions in Texas, and its members are visiting the State
Capitol today, February 8, 2005; and

WHEREAS, The first state-chartered Texas credit union was founded in 1929 in Kingsville with 28 members, assets totaling \$1,080, and loans of \$823; today, with a membership that includes more than seven million Texans, Texas credit unions serve a broad range of sectors in the community, including branches of our country's military, churches, and federal, state, and municipal government employees such as teachers, police officers, and firefighters; and

WHEREAS, Representing democratic values in economic matters, credit unions are governed by a volunteer board of directors who are elected by the membership and who work solely in behalf of that membership; and

WHEREAS, Texas' not-for-profit credit unions are committed to responsible financial stewardship and customer satisfaction; they answer their members' growing financial service needs by offering checking, savings, IRA, and money market accounts, a variety of loan options, and the many modern conveniences necessary to handle financial matters in an expeditious manner; and

WHEREAS, By helping Texans to better manage their household finances, credit unions are contributing to a brighter future for

H.R. No. 113

- 1 our state, and all those associated with Texas credit unions truly
- 2 deserve special commendation for their significant contributions
- 3 to the economy of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 8, 2005, as Credit Union Day
- 6 at the State Capitol and extend best wishes to the not-for-profit
- 7 credit union members-owners visiting the Capitol today.

Solomons

H.R. No. 113

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 113 was adopted by the House on February 8, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House