H.R. No. 116

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, An esteemed public member of the Sunset Advisory 2 Commission, the Honorable John Shields has a long history of 3 working in behalf of his fellow citizens, both in San Antonio and at 4 the statewide level; and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Shields is held in high regard by his former 6 colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives from his decade of 7 service as a member of that body, where he first became known for 8 his thoroughness and dedication to pursuing fair and sensible 9 policy; and

10 WHEREAS, Mr. Shields has also brought to his work on the 11 state's Sunset Advisory Commission his characteristic diligence 12 and attention to detail, and these invaluable assets have greatly 13 benefited not only his fellow commission members but also citizens 14 throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, Commission observers accustomed 15 to seeing 16 Mr. Shields engaged in the rigorous examination of weighty documents or a detailed discussion of testimony have at times been 17 18 surprised to find that, despite his businesslike demeanor, the mere sight of a chocolate-chip cookie has been known to wreathe this 19 20 serious public servant's face in a joyous smile; and

21 WHEREAS, In giving of his time and talents to further the 22 important work of the Sunset Advisory Commission, John Shields has 23 continued to uphold the high standards of public service for which 24 he is known, while contributing immeasurably to the efficiency and

1

H.R. No. 116

1 accountability of state government; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor John Shields for his service on the Sunset 4 Advisory Commission and commend him for his dedication to the State 5 of Texas; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Shields as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Solomons

H.R. No. 116

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 116 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House