H.R. No. 124

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Boys and Girls Clubs of Texas have made 2 invaluable contributions to the youth of the Lone Star State 3 throughout their rich history; and

WHEREAS, Providing services to more than 375,000 school-aged children, the Boys and Girls Clubs of Texas have remained steadfastly dedicated to encouraging all young people, especially those from disadvantaged backgrounds, to aspire to the highest levels of personal growth and achievement; and

WHEREAS, Through strong, proven programs, the Boys and Girls 9 Clubs emphasize the development of character and leadership, the 10 advancement of education and career, and the acquisition of 11 12 important health and life management skills; the organization also 13 helps to foster an appreciation for the arts and enhance physical 14 fitness through sports and recreation opportunities; moreover, the clubs promote self-esteem and improved educational, 15 social, emotional, and cultural awareness, all the while encouraging 16 community involvement and instilling strong moral values; and 17

18 WHEREAS, On February 17, 2005, one of eight outstanding 19 statewide finalists will be chosen as Texas State Youth of the Year 20 to represent the State of Texas at the National Youth of the Year 21 contest sponsored by the Boys and Girls Clubs of America; and

22 WHEREAS, Recognizing that children are our state's most 23 valuable resource, the Boys and Girls Clubs of Texas have long 24 encouraged young people to realize their full potential as

1

## H.R. No. 124

productive, responsible, and caring citizens; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby commend the Boys and Girls Clubs across Texas for the outstanding services that they provide young people and their families and extend sincere best wishes for continued success to all those associated with these noteworthy clubs.

> Goodman Gonzales Pena

H.R. No. 124

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 124 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House