H.R. No. 134

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Chief Henry "Hank" Stokes Howell, Jr., has retired 2 from the Missouri City Police Department, drawing to a close an 3 outstanding 27-year tenure on the force; and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

WHEREAS, Hired on April 1, 1977, Chief Howell served as a SWAT member, public safety officer, and field training officer before rising through the ranks of sergeant, criminal investigator, and patrol division lieutenant; in 1989, he made captain, and he was promoted to assistant chief of police in 1992, acting chief in 1993, and then chief of police in 1994; and

WHEREAS, For nearly three decades, Chief Howell has served the city of Missouri City with integrity and dedication, earning the lasting respect of all who have been privileged to work with him, and he truly merits special recognition for his notable career in law enforcement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Chief Henry Stokes Howell, Jr., on his retirement from the Missouri City Police Department and extend to him best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for Chief Howell as an expression of high regard by the 21 Texas House of Representatives.

Howard

H.R. No. 134

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Pena Burnam Hegar Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

H.R.	No.	134
TT • T/		

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 134 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House