By: Jones of Dallas

H.R. No. 138

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas State Association and Beauty Culturists
League hosted its 60th annual convention in Dallas on October 10,
2004; and

WHEREAS, Members of this professional organization meet yearly not only to share insights and discuss the latest techniques, products, and trends in the industry, but also to honor fellow cosmetologists whose accomplishments are truly noteworthy; and

9 WHEREAS, One such dedicated professional is Mrs. Willie 10 Brown, who was the 2004 recipient of the Distinguished Service 11 Award; throughout her career, Mrs. Brown has demonstrated exemplary 12 dedication to her work and her clients and in doing so, she has 13 earned the lasting respect and admiration of her peers; and

WHEREAS, In addition to Mrs. Brown, 10 other talented Texans were lauded for their remarkable 50 years of service as cosmetologists in their respective communities; they were: Ruby Borton, Mary Holmes, J'Lena Boykin, Marie Shelton, Mattie Caraway, Dr. Ila Steward, Dr. Annie Pearl Hatley, Jewel Williams, Dr. Ida V. Loud, and Larwena Williams; and

20 WHEREAS, All of the most recent honorees have enjoyed great 21 success and proven themselves to be talented experts in their 22 field, and their professionalism and devotion to excellence are 23 indeed worthy of recognition; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

1

H.R. No. 138

Legislature hereby congratulate the 2004 honorees of the Texas State Association and Beauty Culturists League for their outstanding careers and commend them for their commitment to enhancing the beauty and self-confidence of their grateful clientele; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the honorees as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.