H.R. No. 167

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For more than three decades, the members of the 2 Texas Probation Association have provided leadership through 3 training, networking opportunities, and advocacy for probation 4 professionals throughout the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, Established in 1974, the organization represents 6 professionals in the nearly 300 adult and juvenile probation 7 departments across the state who are responsible for enforcing 8 court orders, collecting fees, providing offender treatment and 9 counseling referrals, and collecting restitution for victims; and

10 WHEREAS, The Texas Probation Association and its membership 11 strive to enhance public safety as their primary role while 12 maintaining efficiency for Texas taxpayers; and

13 WHEREAS, The probation system is the most cost-effective 14 alternative to long-term incarceration, providing the courts with 15 additional resources designed to reduce recidivism and provide 16 treatment for the offender; and

17 WHEREAS, The Texas Probation Association provides these 18 individuals with a unified voice, empowering them to express their 19 concerns, make public their successes, and articulate their vision 20 for the future; and

21 WHEREAS, The men and women of the Texas Probation Association 22 are dedicated to improving the state's criminal and juvenile 23 justice systems, and their efforts in this regard are helping to 24 build a brighter and more promising future for all Texans; now,

1

H.R. No. 167

1 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize February 8, 2005, as Texas Probation
Association Day at the Capitol and extend to the members of that
organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the Texas Probation Association as an expression of
high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McReynolds

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 167

Menendez

H.R. No. 167

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 167 was adopted by the House on February 8, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House