H.R. No. 176

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Leroy Jones, Jr., retired as church clerk of Good 2 Street Baptist Church on December 31, 2004, having admirably 3 performed his duties in behalf of the congregation for the past 45 4 years; and

5 WHEREAS, After graduating from G. W. Jackson High School in 6 1950, Mr. Jones earned the highest freshman entrance exam score at 7 Bishop College, where this talented gentleman excelled in track and 8 football; after graduation, he entered the U.S. Army and went on to 9 serve his country for the next two years; and

10 WHEREAS, Mr. Jones joined Good Street Baptist Church in 1956 11 and was named to his post three years later; fully immersed in 12 church activities, he has also distinguished himself as a member of 13 the Miller King Bible Class and the Deacon Board; and

WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, Mr. Jones has enjoyed the support of his beloved wife, Lorraine, whom he married on August 4, 16 1956; their union has been blessed with three daughters, Donna Kay 17 Hammonds and twins Vicki and Janel Jones; moreover, Mr. and Mrs. 18 Jones have shared in the joy of welcoming five grandchildren and one 19 great-grandchild into their family; and

20 WHEREAS, Mr. Jones has served the members of Good Street 21 Baptist Church with integrity and dedication throughout his career, 22 earning the lasting respect of his fellow congregants, and it is a 23 pleasure to recognize this loyal gentleman and to honor him for his 24 many years of service; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 176

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Leroy Jones, Jr., on his retirement 3 from Good Street Baptist Church and commend him for his remarkable 4 tenure as church clerk; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Jones as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Jones of Dallas

H.R. No. 176

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 176 was adopted by the House on February 3, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House