H.R. No. 179

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Cardiovascular diseases are the leading cause of death among women, claiming the lives of more than half a million women each year, more than the next seven causes of death combined and nearly twice as many as all forms of cancer; moreover, 63 percent of women who died suddenly of heart disease had no previous symptoms of the condition; and

WHEREAS, One in five females in the United States has some
form of cardiovascular disease, and the cost of treating heart
attacks, strokes, and other related illnesses in the United States
has reached \$352 billion; and

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

WHEREAS, In conjunction with the American Heart Association's designation of February as American Heart Month, the organization's National Wear Red for Women Day campaign encourages women to pay attention to their hearts and increase their awareness of the risk factors for coronary disease in order to help them live longer, stronger lives; by educating and empowering women to reduce their risks, it is estimated that thousands of lives can be saved each year; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 4, 2005, as Wear Red for Women Day and encourage all citizens to wear red in honor of family, friends, and neighbors who have fought heart disease and in support of this laudable effort.

Dukes Hamric

H.R. No. 179

Geren Craddick Menendez Giddings Allen of Harris Merritt Allen of Dallas Gonzales Miller Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Moreno of Harris Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anchia Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Mowery Griggs Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Hamilton Oliveira Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Otto Harper-Brown Brown of Brazos Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Hughes Rodriguez Crabb Rose Hunter Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Isett Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas Jackson Dawson Jones of Lubbock Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Strama Driver Keffer of Eastland Swinford King of Parker Dukes Talton Dunnam King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Dutton Thompson Krusee Truitt Edwards Eiland Kuempel Turner Uresti Eissler Laney Elkins Laubenberg Van Arsdale Escobar Leibowitz Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Madden Vo Farrar Martinez West Flores Flynn Martinez Fischer Wong Frost McCall Woolley Gallego McClendon Zedler Gattis McReynolds

H.R. No. 179

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 179 was adopted by the House on February 3, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House