H.R. No. 180

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Asian Community of Texas is celebrating the 2 joyous occasion of the Lunar New Year on February 9, 2005; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This special holiday marks the commencement of the
- 4 year of the rooster and ushers in the spring season, a new
- 5 beginning, when the Asian Community reflects on the past and makes
- 6 plans for the future; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The New Year begins on the first day of the first
- 8 lunar month of the year and falls between the end of January and the
- 9 middle of February; while the exact date changes from year to year,
- 10 the festive spirit of the season remains the same; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The eve of the holiday's three-day festival is spent
- 12 cleaning houses and ancestral graves and preparing a ceremonial
- 13 meal; the Lunar New Year traditionally serves as a time to reunite
- 14 with family, renew special friendships, and remember past
- experiences, paving the way for good things to come; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The Asian Community plays a vital role in the
- 17 business, professional, and cultural life of Austin, and the New
- 18 Year provides a fitting opportunity to salute these fine citizens
- on this special occasion and to celebrate our common goals of peace
- and harmony for all humanity; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize the Lunar New Year on February 9,
- 23 2005, and extend to the Asian Community best wishes for a healthy
- and happy New Year.

H.R. No. 180

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Allen of Dallas Gonzales Miller Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Moreno of Harris Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anchia Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Mowery Griggs Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Hamilton Oliveira Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Otto Harper-Brown Brown of Brazos Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Hughes Rodriguez Crabb Rose Hunter Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Isett Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas Jackson Dawson Jones of Lubbock Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Strama Driver Keffer of Eastland Swinford King of Parker Dukes Talton Dunnam King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Dutton Thompson Krusee Truitt Edwards Eiland Kuempel Turner Uresti Eissler Laney Elkins Laubenberg Van Arsdale Escobar Leibowitz Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Madden Vo Farrar Martinez West Flores Flynn Martinez Fischer Wong Frost McCall Woolley Gallego McClendon Zedler Gattis McReynolds

H.R. No. 180

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 180 was adopted by the House on February 3, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House