H.R. No. 184

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Matagorda County are gathering at the 2 State Capitol on February 8, 2005, to celebrate the role their 3 county has played in the history of our great state; and

WHEREAS, In 1820, Moses Austin received a land grant that included the fertile land between the Colorado and Brazos Rivers; his son, Stephen F. Austin, continued his father's plans of establishing a settlement in this Gulf Coast prairie region; and

WHEREAS, After the Texas Revolution, in 1836, Matagorda 8 County was organized as one of the first 23 counties of the Republic 9 of Texas; the name "matagorda" is the Spanish word for thick brush, 10 and it is derived from the canebrakes that formerly lined the 11 12 county's shore; in the 19th century, the region's fertile soil, 13 ample rainfall, and mild climate attracted hundreds of settlers, who maximized the land for farming and ranching, and the area's 14 forests provided pioneer families with an abundant supply of wood 15 16 for building and fuel; and

WHEREAS, Cotton and sugar quickly became the dominant crops, but in later years, the county expanded its agricultural economy to include rice, corn, soybeans, milo, and other grains; today, the region is home to the South Texas Nuclear Power Project and boasts a diverse economy of agriculture, petrochemicals, plastics, and oil and gas; and

23 WHEREAS, Matagorda County is a desirable destination for 24 visitors who enjoy the benefits of nature and outdoor recreational

1

H.R. No. 184

activities, such as boating, sailing, fishing, and water skiing;
birdwatching has become a particularly popular pastime as the
county has led all of North America in the prestigious Audubon
Christmas Bird Count and 246 species were observed in December 2004
alone; and

6 WHEREAS, The area also draws many visitors and residents 7 alike to the Matagorda County Rodeo, the Christmas Lighted Parade 8 and Tour of Homes, the Shrimporee and Blessing of the Fleet, Bayfest 9 in November, the Rice Festival in October, and an annual cattle drive across the Colorado River to Matagorda Peninsula; in addition 10 to the county seat, Bay City, other towns in the region include 11 12 Palacios, Blessing, Cedar Lane, Collegeport, Elmaton, Markham, Matagorda, Midfield, Pledger, Sargent, Van Vleck, and Wadsworth; 13 14 and

WHEREAS, The residents of this fine Texas county have played an important part in preserving their region's past and preparing for a productive future, and it is a pleasure to pay tribute to Matagorda County and its citizens on this special day; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 21 Legislature hereby recognize February 8, 2005, as Matagorda County 22 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the delegation here today 23 sincere best wishes for an enjoyable visit.

Dawson

2

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 184

Menendez

H.R. No. 184

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 184 was adopted by the House on February 8, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House