RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A loving family and good friends celebrate the life of Alicia Montes of San Elizario, who departed this earth on October

3 19, 2004; and

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Born in 1926, Mrs. Montes was a lifelong resident of San Elizario, where she was an active and well-known member of her community; her devotion to the Catholic Church inspired her friends and family, who admired her spiritual commitment; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Montes was a natural-born leader and served as treasurer and president of the Senior Citizens Center of San Elizario, where she created an environment of joy with new ideas and an infectious sense of optimism; and

WHEREAS, With a twinkle in her eye, Alicia Montes was a devoted wife and mother, and her strength and generosity of spirit will be deeply missed by all those who were privileged to know this kind soul; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of Alicia Montes and extend deepest sympathies to the members of her family: to her sons, Gary, Eric, and Ed; to her daughters-in-law, Melinda, Nancy, and Ruth; to her grandchildren, Megan, Ryan, and Geoff; to her sisters, Margarita Ramirez, Ann Rivas, Bertha Aleman, and Nellie Rodriguez; to her brothers, Bob, Frank, Tony, and Joe Perez, and Manuel Parada; and to the other relatives and many friends of this remarkable woman; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 3 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Alicia
- 4 Montes.

Quintanilla

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 206 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 24, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House