RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, With the passing of Benito G. Rodriguez on June 21,
- 2 2004, at the age of 85, South Texas has lost a valiant patriot, a
- 3 hardworking entrepreneur, and an irreplaceable pillar of the
- 4 community; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Well known to his fellow Edinburg residents for more
- 6 than four decades as the owner of Benny's Dry Goods, a popular
- 7 western wear store, Mr. Rodriguez was also a veteran of World War
- 8 II, and throughout his life he took pride and pleasure in recalling
- 9 his service to his country; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Rodriguez enlisted in the Army at the age of 21,
- immediately before the country's entry into World War II, and it was
- 12 while performing the difficult and hazardous duties of a machine
- 13 gunner that he was injured in an engagement with Japanese troops;
- 14 and
- WHEREAS, On returning to Edinburg, he proceeded to build his
- successful business while raising a family, instilling his tireless
- work ethic and steadfast honesty in his own children by example; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Representative Aaron Pena has justly paid tribute to
- 19 the life of Benito G. Rodriguez by passing this resolution in his
- 20 behalf during the Regular Session of the 79th Texas Legislature;
- 21 now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby honor the memory of Benito G. Rodriguez of
- 24 Edinburg and extend sincere sympathy to his family: to his wife,

- 1 Petra Rodriguez; to his children and their spouses, J. Humberto and
- 2 Norma Rodriguez, Becky Rodriguez, Ricardo and Arlene Rodriguez, and
- 3 Benny Rodriguez, Jr., and his wife, Rosie; to his grandchildren,
- 4 Audra, J., Ricky, Brianna, Amanda, Deandra, Benjamin, and Abraham
- 5 Rodriguez, Billy and Laura Guerra, and Christopher and Aissa Luna;
- 6 and to his other relatives and many friends.

Pena Gonzales

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 219 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 24, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House