H.R. No. 247

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Audrey Ann Almaraz, a vibrant 17-year-old, has won
the title of Miss Edinburg 2005; and

3 WHEREAS, Distinguishing herself among an impressive field of 4 candidates in last September's pageant, she not only won the crown, 5 but also won the opportunity to represent the city throughout the 6 Rio Grande Valley and the Lone Star State at a host of events; and

WHEREAS, A graduating junior at Johnny G. Economedes High 7 School, where she has excelled as a member of the UIL mock trial 8 team, this intelligent young Texan has already accrued 33 college 9 hours through a concurrent education program offered by The 10 11 University of Texas-Pan American and will begin her official 12 collegiate tenure as a sophomore; with a deeply rooted interest in 13 the law, Miss Almaraz hopes to become an attorney and one day fight 14 for social justice; and

15 WHEREAS, In all of her accomplished endeavors, she has 16 enjoyed the unconditional love and support of her mother, Sonja 17 Mireles, and sister, Alyssa Almaraz; and

18 WHEREAS, Audrey Almaraz is a tremendous source of pride to 19 her family, friends, school, and community, and the poise, grace, 20 and commitment to excellence she has readily displayed will 21 undoubtedly serve her well throughout her life; and

22 WHEREAS, Representative Aaron Pena has justly recognized 23 Miss Almaraz by passing this resolution in her behalf during the 24 Regular Session of the 79th Texas Legislature; now, therefore, be

1

H.R. No. 247

1 it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Audrey Ann Almaraz on winning the 4 title of Miss Edinburg 2005 and extend to her sincere best wishes 5 for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Miss Almaraz as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

> Pena Gonzales Escobar

H.R. No. 247

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 247 was adopted by the House on February 9, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House