RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of Texas
is pleased to recognize The University of Texas M. D. Anderson
Cancer Center in Houston, one of the world's most respected centers
devoted exclusively to cancer patient care, research, education,

5 and prevention; and 6 WHEREAS, The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer

WHEREAS, The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center is well known the world over for its multidisciplinary approach to treating cancer; since 1944, more than 600,000 cancer patients have received treatment at the facility; and

WHEREAS, The center's cancer research program is one of the most productive efforts in the world and ranks first in the number of grants awarded by the National Cancer Institute; each year, the center's educational programs provide training to several hundred residents and fellows who receive specialized training in the investigation and treatment of cancer; and

WHEREAS, One of the center's most innovative programs is the annual rehabilitation trip in January to the National Ability Center in Park City, Utah; funded by the Children's Art Project, the trip provides pediatric cancer patients time away from cancer treatments and time to enjoy breathtaking scenery and outdoor activities; and

WHEREAS, The rehabilitation program offers the patients snow-skiing lessons, giving them an opportunity to acquire a new skill and gain a sense of accomplishment; the patients gain

- 1 confidence as their skiing skills progress and often participate in
- 2 other activities, such as swimming in a heated pool, driving
- 3 snowmobiles, and dancing, with newfound assurance; and
- WHEREAS, The ski trip was conceived by Dr. Norman Jaffe, a
- 5 pediatric oncologist and a professor at The University of Texas,
- 6 after hearing a young cancer patient, Ted Kennedy, Jr., describe
- 7 his adventures on the ski slopes; Dr. Jaffe realized that skiing
- 8 could be a novel form of physical rehabilitation and, with a crew of
- 9 volunteers and specially trained ski instructors, began taking
- 10 pediatric cancer patients to the mountains each year; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Besides the benefits of physical rehabilitation,
- 12 the ski trip offers psychosocial rehabilitation; the cancer
- 13 patients and survivors gain confidence and give each other hope and
- 14 support as they master new skills and make new friends; the trip
- 15 facilitates both physical and social healing and gives parents
- 16 reassurance regarding their children's abilities; and
- WHEREAS, With more than 12,000 employees and a volunteer
- workforce of approximately 1,400, the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
- 19 is a vital force in the City of Houston and our state, and its
- 20 services have had a positive impact on the lives of people around
- 21 the world; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the State of
- 23 Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to The University of
- 24 Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center for its excellent treatment
- 25 programs and commend all the people involved with the annual
- 26 rehabilitation ski trip for young cancer patients; and, be it
- 27 further

- 1 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared as an
- 2 expression of high regard from the Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Allen of Dallas Miller Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Swinford Talton Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Taylor Kolkhorst Thompson Dutton Edwards Krusee Truitt Eiland Kuempel Turner Eissler Uresti Laney Elkins Laubenberg Van Arsdale Escobar Leibowitz Veasey Villarreal Farabee Luna Madden Farrar Vo Flores Martinez West Martinez Fischer Wong Flynn McCall Woolley Frost Gallego McClendon Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 251 was adopted by the House on February 9, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House